Twists & Turns – Part 1

Slowly I opened my eyes, sunlight was streaming through the open curtains. I suddenly realized that today is the first day of work at my new office. Jumping out of the bed, i ran to the bathroom.

While I am there, you can guys learn few things about me. I am Aarthi and am taller than average indian girl, with a dark complexion and sharp features with nice smooth flowing hair. I was working as an executive in one of those big companies in Bangalore but she lost her job a week back due to recession and you know how those decisions are made!!, and somehow managed to get another one in a small firm. They were very strict during the interview and as usual in small firm entire thing is controlled by few freaks and i understand how the entire thing works!! I always had the ability to judge/sense people despite my relatively young age as my job demands that i continously interact with people. I am a very confident lady and ready to take this world head on.

Enough guys here i come. Hmmm, i see myself in the mirror and admire. I definitely look radiantly beautiful. Lot of men dont see beyond my color and dont know what they are missing and i couldnt control the smile on my lips!! You guys wait outside and let me get dressed!!

Okay i am ready for the new place!! I decided to select a white saree with blue wavy design and matching everything for it, just put a light lipstick just to highlight it a bit!! Let me run down and get to my scooter. I can see the neighbors staring at me, they arent used to women who stay alone and live independently. All the men shamelessly oogle at me, but poor guys none have the guts to express it!! I just smile thinking about it and start my scooter, cover my nice long hair from pollution by tucking it inside a scarf and wear a nice windcheater. The new office is nearby around 10 minutes of drive and that is one reason i took it despite it being a small firm run by certain freaks. I drive slowly in the traffic and reach the building complete the formalities with the security and reach the front office.

I was ahead by 10 minutes , so i thought i will check myself once before the actual formalities start. I ask for the rest room and get inside and check myself in the mirror, not bad, traffic has not created major havoc. I just mildly wipe my face water, reapply little bit moisturizer to the face and hands, check my hair plait tighten it little bit and adjust my saree. I meet few of the future women colleagues there. Smiles exchanged, but no words spoken. I dont care.

Back in the reception, i ask for the head of HR. There he is, already coming down by the lift. He says the usual formal things, welcome blah blah, we are are great place to work with blah blah. After filling up all the necessary paper work, he says i will take you around and introduce you to everyone. It is a small office so it shouldnt take long he says. I dont mind, i also want to look around and check out about people who are working there!!

Fifteeen minutes, i have been repeating the same thing…hello, nice meeting [name], looking forward to work with you. Some men oogle, some men show disinterest as i am an ordinary executive, some women clearly show that they dont like me as i am not high like them, i just wanted it to end. That is when i met him!!

4 thoughts on “Twists & Turns – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Twists & Turns – Part 3 | TimesrInteresting

  2. Pingback: Twists & Turns – Part 4 | TimesrInteresting

Leave a comment